Confirmed Starting XI: 3-4-3 for Manchester United? Lingard, Lukaku & Martial lead the attack!

Manchester United travel to Watford in the Premier League on Tuesday evening, seeking to overcome last season’s defeat at Vicarage Road by continuing their winning run in the Premier League. Jose Mourinho’s friend, Marco Silva manages Watford and he has praised the side ahead of the fixture, which will be shown live on BT Sport 1HD in the United Kingdom. At the weekend, aiming to recover from a midweek defeat away to Basel, United welcomed Brighton and Hove Albion to Old Trafford for the first time in 24 years – resulting in a 1-0 victory for United, but with a goal scored by Lewis Dunk after Ashley Young’s effort was deflected into the top corner of the net.

Manchester United:

De Gea;

Lindelof, Smalling, Rojo;

Valencia, Matic, Pogba, Young;

Lingard, Martial;



Romero; Darmian; Mata, Herrera, McTominay; Ibrahimovic, Rashford

Manchester United and Watford have played 28 matches in the history of both clubs – the first, a 1-0 victory for United in the FA Cup, was played on the 28th January 1950 with Jack Rowley scoring the only goal of the game. United have won 18 times, drawn five and lost five – which shows consistency against Watford. The last game United lost to Watford was at Vicarage Road last season, on the 18th September 2016 – the third match of a three-match beaten streak which commenced with the 1-0 defeat to Manchester City at Old Trafford, the last match United had lost at home.

In that match, Marcus Rashford scored a consolation for United in the 62nd minute, which was the equaliser at the time, canceling out Etienne Capoue’s opener, but in the 83rd minute, Camilo Zúñiga put Watford ahead with Troy Deeney scoring a penalty in the 90th minute. Prior to that defeat, United had an eleven match winning run over Watford, lasting from the 14th February 1987 until the 2nd March 2016, scoring 29 goals and conceding seven goals – also keeping five clean sheets.

Other news you may also like

May 30, 2018

Manchester United are reportedly finalising the transfer of Fred from Shakhtar Donetsk according to an exclusive by the Manchester Evening News. Fred has b… Read more

April 29, 2020

Manchester United have confirmed that they have been given approval by Trafford Council for a barrier seating-trial to take place at Old Trafford. United … Read more

May 31, 2018

Peter Schmeichel was the man mountain between the sticks for Sir Alex Ferguson, pulling off remarkable saves and ensuring Manchester United’s last line o… Read more

December 2, 2017

Manchester United beat Arsenal 3-1 in the Premier League at the Emirates on Saturday evening. United scored through Antonio Valencia in the fourth minute, … Read more

copyright: JW

%d bloggers like this: